Yoga 90DayFix

I took a yoga class in high school (5 years ago) and I loved it. I felt more energized, happy, and connected to my body. But exercising daily was never apart of my routine, or really anyone in my family or circle of friends. It was easy to let go and not think of it after, or to make excuses like, “I’m lazy,” “I don’t have time,” “It’s too hard,” “I have no where to go,” and “Its too expensive to take classes and go to a gym.”

Four months ago I started changing that habit and I never had to leave my home or spend any money (besides a mat and some weights). Thanks to youtube and free classes online, I found Lesley Fightmaster, an incredible yoga teacher who offers so much of her time and love. Including a free 90 day yoga program that I’m nearly complete (on day 86 today!) and I can see why some people do the 90 days twice… it’s just not long enough once you get into it.

What really helped me stay focused was making a schedule and keeping track of everything. Every week I pair strength training and HITT (high intensity interval training) followed by yoga to finish. This is what my weekly looks like:

Sunday – Core and Lower Back
Monday – Biceps and Upper Back
Tuesday – HITT
Wednesday – Legs and Chest
Thursday – HITT
Friday – Shoulders and Triceps
Saturday – HITT

Every day is about an hour of working out. Half hour of either strength training or HITT, followed by a half hour yoga session. I’m on week 15 of keeping up with this personalized program and the results both in mind and body are enough to keep me going. Of course I have rest days, sometimes once a week, sometimes once every two weeks. It all depends but my body usually lets me know when its time for a break.

For anyone interested in creating a new healthy habit of Yoga, I recommend you look up Lesley Fightmaster on youtube. It is worth it 100%.

 

Leave a Reply

